Changes to councillors on the Executive - June 2018

Joining the Council's Executive is Cllr Gordon Jackson, as Lead Councillor for Innovation and Transformation, and Cllr Nigel Manning as Lead Councillor for Finance and Asset Management.

The political Leader of the Council is responsible for appointing lead councillors and determining their areas of responsibility. They can appoint up to nine other councillors to form a Cabinet (known as the Executive), one of whom will be the Deputy Leader. The Leader chairs Executive meetings and leads the Executive in its work to develop the policy framework and budget to deliver services to our local community.

The Executive is now made up of the following councillors:

  • Paul Spooner - Leader of the Council and Lead Councillor for Partnerships, Planning and Regeneration

  • Matt Furniss - Deputy Leader of the Council and Lead Councillor for Infrastructure and Governance

  • David Bilbe - Lead Councillor for Enterprise and Economic Development

  • Philip Brooker - Lead Councillor for Housing and Development Management

  • Geoff Davis - Special Advisor to the Leader and Lead Councillor for Social Enterprise and Voluntary Sector

  • Graham Ellwood - Lead Councillor for Licensing, Environmental Health and Community Safety

  • Gordon Jackson - Lead Councillor for Innovation and Transformation

  • Nigel Manning - Lead Councillor for Finance and Asset Management

  • Nikki Nelson-Smith - Lead Councillor for Skills, Arts and Tourism

  • Iseult Roche - Lead Councillor for Community Health, Wellbeing and Project Aspire

Cllr Michael Illman, former Lead Councillor for Finance and Asset Management, stands down from the Executive. Cllr Richard Billington, former Lead Councillor for Rural Economy, Countryside, Parks and Leisure, stands down as he is now Deputy Mayor.

Cllr Paul Spooner, Leader of the Council says: " I would like to thank Cllr Illman for making way for Cllr Manning to return to his previous role, now that his Mayoral year is over. I would also like to thank Cllr Billington as he moves on to become Deputy Mayor."

For more information on our councillors and their responsibilities, please visit Your Councillors web page. 

Published on Wednesday 20 June.