Temporary appointments to support Normandy Parish Council

Five of our borough Councillors have been appointed to Normandy Parish Council on a temporary basis until 6 May.

The five councillors who will act as Normandy parish councillors are Cllr David BilbĂ©, Cllr Bob McShee, Cllr Ramsey Nagaty, Cllr Paul Spooner and Cllr Fiona White. 

James Whiteman, Managing Director said: "Following consultation with the leaders of each political group, we have authorised an order under Section 91 Local Government Act 1972 to temporarily appoint persons to Normandy Parish Council to enable it to function." 

The decision was made at last night's Extraordinary Meeting of the Council following the recent resignation of seven parish councillors, which left the Parish Council inquorate and unable to meet lawfully to carry out Parish Council business. 

We are allowed to appoint a number of persons to act as parish councillors to fill in some or all vacancies under Section 91 of the Local Government Act 1972, until it has a sufficient number of elected parish councillors. A by-election for Normandy Parish Council will take place on Thursday 6 May. 

With the new temporary councillors in place, Normandy Parish Council will be able to continue to carry out business as usual. 

Published 5 March 2021