European Election

View the European Election results.

About the European elections

The poll and declaration of results for the South East of England is administered by the Regional Returning Officer, Mark Heath, who is also the Local Returning Officer for the Southampton Area.

MEPs are elected under a proportional representation system (d.Hondt). In the UK, you have one vote to elect all of your MEPs. Each party puts forward a list of candidates called a 'party list' and you vote for one of these lists or for an independent candidate.

Key dates

  • The deadline to register to vote at the election was Tuesday 7 May 2019. You can register at any time online at or contact the electoral services team for an application form in order to be registered to vote for future elections.

  • The deadline to apply to vote by post or make changes to existing postal or proxy votes at the election was 5pm on Wednesday 8 May 2019. Please see our voting by post page to find out how to apply for a postal vote for future elections.

  • The deadline to apply to vote by proxy at the election was 5pm on Wednesday 15 May 2019. Please see our voting by proxy page to find out how to apply for a proxy vote for future elections.

Vote by emergency proxy

If you have had a medical emergency or work related emergency take place after 5pm on Wednesday 15 May you may be able to apply to vote by proxy on an emergency basis. Please contact the elections team on 01483 444115 or for more information on emergency proxies.

EC6 Form - European Union citizens

At European Parliamentary elections, EU citizens have a choice of voting for a Member of European Parliament (MEP) either from the UK, or from their 'home' country.

This refers to citizens from the following EU countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

If you are from one of the countries listed above, live in the UK, and want to vote in the UK for the forthcoming European Parliament elections, you needed to complete a form known as an EC6 form and submit it to the electoral services team by Tuesday 7 May 2019.

As soon as the electoral services team were informed of the requirement to run the European Parliamentary election, they sent an EC6 form to every registered EU citizen living in the Guildford borough, either by email or in the post. Citizens from the UK, Republic of Ireland, Malta or Cyprus did not need to complete an EC6 form.

If you did not submit your EC6 form by Tuesday 7 May 2019, you will not be able to vote in the European Parliamentary elections in the UK (you will only be able to vote in your home country providing you have made arrangements to do so with the relevant local authority there).

If you have any questions, please contact the electoral services team by phoning 01483 444115 or emailing

Polling station venue changes

There were a number of changes to polling station venues for the European Parliamentary elections that took place on Thursday 23 May 2019.

Old polling station

New polling station

Burchatts Farm Barn

Boxgrove Primary School

Boxgrove Lane



Burpham Village Hall

Sutherland Memorial Hall

Clay Lane




East Horsley Village Hall

Horsley Library

Parade Court

East Horsley

KT24 6QR

Lancaster Hall

Send Church of England Primary School

Send Barns Lane


GU23 7BS

Merrow Village Hall

Bushy Hill Junior School

Sheeplands Avenue



Shaftesbury Hall

The Salvation Army Hall

Woodbridge Road



Seale Village Hall

The Sands Room

The Green

The Sands


GU10 1LL

Stoke & District Horticultural Society Hall

(The Aggie)

The Annexe, St Peters Church Hall

Hazel Avenue



The Ash Centre

Victoria Hall

Ash Hill Road



GU12 5DN

The Waterside Centre

New Hope Church

Larch Avenue



Tongham Community Centre

The Benson Room

Japonica Court

Shawfield Road


GU12 6QU

All new polling stations have been designated by the Local Returning Officer in accordance with Electoral Commission guidance, taking into account issues such as:

  • Providing venues that are accessible to all
  • The availability of venues
  • The size of the electorate the polling station serves