We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We also set analytics cookies to help us improve it, this information is collected in a way that does not allow us to identify anyone. Find out more about our cookies and how to block them. Find out more about Cookies

Mayor's Award for Service to the Community

The Mayor's Award for Service to the Community aims to recognise and encourage positive community working in the Borough of Guildford. See our list of winners for 2020.

The Mayor's Award for Service to the Community rewards people nominated by residents in the borough. For 2020, the list of nominees includes musicians, charity fundraisers, homeless shelter volunteers, theatre directors, scout leaders, parish councillors and clerks, school teachers and governors, retail managers, care centre co-ordinators and other community leaders, as well as Guildford Street Angels and the Trustees of Number Five.

The Mayor of Guildford, Cllr Richard Billington, congratulated those receiving an award and said: "Everyone receiving an award has been nominated by residents whose lives have been touched by their kindness, generosity of spirit and endless enthusiasm, in some cases over many years.

"Supporting health in our community has been the theme for my mayoral year and every one of the award recipients have made significant contributions to both the physical and mental health of the borough.

"Their stories are inspiring and confirm the wonderful sense of community that we have in Guildford. I am delighted to be able to recognise the tremendous contribution that they have made to the borough."

We are very grateful to The County Club for sponsoring this award.

Kevin Lorimer, General Manager of the County Club (pictured right with the Mayor of Guildford Cllr Richard Billington), said: "The County Club are very proud to be the sponsors once again for the Mayor's Award for Service to the Community. 

Mayor's award for access sponsor and Cllr Billington

Guildford has a very special community where many people go out their way to help others and we are delighted that we can help recognise those efforts."

For more information, please see our press release published on 23 April: Mayor's Award honours service to the community.

List of 2020 winners

Patricia Ann Allen - School Governor and Chairman of Chilworth C of E Infant School, Choirmaster, Councillor for St. Martha Parish Council in Chilworth
Graham Atterbury - Musical Director, Surrey Police Band
Norman Barber - Guildford Action
Jonathan Bird - Delivered Social marketing agency
Mary Broughton - Worplesdon Memorial Hall and Sidney Sime Gallery
Rachel Bury - Chair, Surrey Police Band
Lucas Calvo-Hobbs
Ben Darnton - Ben's Collectors Records, Guildford Town Past and Present Facebook page
Toby de Kretser - Guildford Action
Yameem Deedar - Shahin Tandoori Restaurant
Beth Foster - Fairlands Players Theatre Company
Matt Gaskin - St Joseph's Church
Guildford Street Angels
Laura Gunner
Carl Harding - The Spike Heritage Centre
David Hunt - 1st Merrow Scout Group, Beating Hearts Merrow, St John's Church Merrow
Judith Hunt - 1st Merrow Scout Group, Beating Hearts Merrow
Margaret Murray - Tongham Parish Council
Roger Musson - Artington Parish Council, Caleb Lovejoy Trust, Compton Conservative Association
Jonathan Pick - Normandy Village Hall
Roger Sage - Normandy Village Volunteers
Claire Suggitt - Tunsgate Quarter
Trustees of Number Five
Victoria Voller - Shere Infant School
Jane Willett - Guildford Action
Katherine Wilson-Zealey - Canterbury Care Centre